facebook  linkedin  Google+  Twitter

Home Awards WEF Awards

WEF Awards


Hatfield Award

The Hatfield Award is presented to operators of wastewater treatment plants for outstanding performance and professionalism. The award was established in honor of Dr. William D. Hatfield, Superintendent of the Decatur, Illinois Sanitary District, who was President of the Central States Sewage Works Association in 1944-45 and served as President of the Federation in 1958-59.

The award consists of a plaque suitably inscribed with the recipient's name and is presented by a Federation representative at the Member Association annual meeting.


WEF Member Associations select their recipient for the Hatfield Award following the WEF general criteria indicated below:

  1. Member of the Water Environment Federation.
  2. Documentation of a successful system of reports from the operator to his or her superiors that fulfill the information requirements and provide the operator with a forum for suggestions for improvements.
  3. Use of a good public relations program.
  4. The nominee should have contributed to the dissemination of information concerning advancements in the field.

Burke Award

Recognizes active and effective safety programs in municipal and industrial wastewater facilities. This award was established in 1982 in honor of George W. Burke, Jr., for his many years of service to both the water environment field and WEF as staff manager of technical services. Mr. Burke was instrumental in developing WEF's annual safety survey and assisting in the production of several safety training aids and promotional packets.

The purpose of this award is to encourage an active and effective safety program in municipal and industrial wastewater facilities.

Award presented by a WEF representative at the WEF Member Association Annual Meeting.


  1. The documented and illustrated safety program and safety record of the facility for the preceding calendar year are the primary criteria for the award.
  2. Additionally, each WEF Member Association is allowed full freedom to establish its own criteria.
  3. The size of the membership dictates the frequency with which Member Associations are eligible to make nominations for the award.

Bedell Award

The Bedell Award was established to acknowledge extraordinary personal service to a WEF Member Association.

The award is named for Arthur Sidney Bedell, WEF's second president for his long devotion and service to the New York Sewage and Industrial Wastes Association, now the New York Water Environment Association. He was Chief of the Bureau of Sewage and Waste Disposal of the New York State Department of Health.

The award is presented by a WEF representative at the WEF Member Association Annual Meeting.

  1. Member of the Water Environment Federation.
  2. Organizational leadership, administrative service, membership activity, stimulation of technical functions, or similar participation.

Laboratory Analyst Award

Recognizes individuals for outstanding performance, professionalism and contributions to the water quality analysis profession. The award is presented by a WEF representative at the WEF Member Association annual meeting.

  1. Member of the Water Environment Federation.
  2. Candidate must be employed at an educational facility laboratory, industrial, commercial, or municipal laboratory which performs wastewater-related analysis, and must have direct analytical responsibilities.
  3. Candidates are eligible for this award only once.
  4. Qualifying criteria may include:
    1. Membership and involvement in professional associations. Examples: Water Environment Federation Committees, Standard Methods Joint Task Groups, MA committees and conferences and conference activities.
    2. Outstanding efforts in the area of wastewater and environmental aquatic analyses, including such items as innovative sampling techniques or solutions to a treatment, analytical or environmental problem.
    3. Involvement in community activities or public relations.
    4. Presentations at professional conferences, meetings, etc. relevant to water quality analysis.
    5. Professional certifications.
    6. Continuing education.
    7. Contributions that have been beneficial to the nominees facility.
    8. Unusual initiative or performance "beyond the call of duty".

Quarter Century Operators Club

Recognizes operators of wastewater treatment facilities for their service and dedication in a difficult and dangerous profession. The Quarter Century Operators' Club was created under the sponsorship of Frank Woodbury Jones, who served as the Clubs' first registrar. Quarter Century Operator certificates are presented at WEF Member Association Annual Meetings.


  • Member of the Water Environment Federation for a minimum of the proceeding five consecutive years.
  • Must have been a significant, full-time participant in the water environment industry for a period of 25 years, 10 of which must have been actively involved in the day-to-day collections, maintenance, operations, laboratory, or management of a wastewater transportation or treatment facility.

Must submit an application to the Federation Awards Department by July 1 of the year to be considered. The application must be accompanied by a complete and detailed resume of experience

joomla template

2014 Kentucky-Tennessee Water Environment Association - Admin -